Monday, June 21, 2021

Review: WHISKEY SECRETS (Whiskey Lies Book 1) by Carrie Anne Ryan

A bit of romantic suspense today... need to change things up some times....

Synopsis from Amazon 

Sparks fly between a former cop-turned-bartender and his new innkeeper in the first installment of a Montgomery Ink spin-off series from NYT Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan. 

Dare Collins is a man who knows his whiskey and women—or at least that’s what he tells himself. When his family decides to hire on a new innkeeper for the inn above his bar and restaurant, he’s more than reluctant. Especially when he meets the new hire. But he’ll soon find that he has no choice but to work with this city girl and accept her new ideas and the burning attraction between them.  

Kenzie Owens left her old life and an abusive relationship behind her—or so she thought. She figures she’ll be safe in Whiskey, Pennsylvania but after one look at her new boss, Dare Collins, she might still be in danger, or at least her heart. And when her past catches up with her despite her attempts to avoid it, it’s more than her heart on the line. This time, it might mean her life. 


Dare Collins took over the bar and restaurant when he retired from the police force, and he's quite happy running the whole enterprise. His family has other feelings and the next thing he knows, they've hired Kenzie Owens. She not only invades his space but threatens his heart. By the time her past catches up, his protective instinct doesn't have a chance.

This was a good read and kept me interested. It is a "spin-off" of another series, but I never read that series. This is my first read by Ryan and easily could be read as a stand-a-lone. It is well-paced and the push and pull of Dare and Kenzie, on both sides, for similar but different reasons, is well orchestrated. A word of warning to my cozy/clean read readers, there is adult content.

Whiskey Secrets is the first of three in the Whiskey Lies Series. Although I can attest to being able to follow this one without reading the previous series, I always recommend you start with the first book in a series. 

The Whiskey and Lies Series 

Book 2: Whiskey Reveals 
Book 3: Whiskey Undone

No comments:

Post a Comment