Thursday, August 11, 2016


5th in Series
Self Published (May 30, 2016)
File Size: 682 KB
Print Length: 272 pages

While Denny battles demons of his own and Cookie and Clancy disappear, a pregnant Fina Fitzgibbons investigates the death of her friend’s husband and in doing so lands in the middle of a group of art and drug traffickers.


Fina's "intern" happens on a body - the husband of a high school friend.  Fina and Cookie, both pregnant seek to help not only their friend, who seems out of touch, but also the their police detective friend, Jane. And of course, the interns are doing their own sleuthing to help Fina. The body count rises and then Cookie and Clancy disappear. Who is behind the art shipments, probably drug trafficking, and Denny's murder? Fina, Cookie, and Clancy are now all loose ends to be dealt with along with the others.  

Amidst the mystery and murders, Denny is still trying to deal with his father's death, his mother's new boyfriend, and the prospect of fatherhood. Anderson weaves in the different ways people grieve and the impact of their grief on others. Readers also get insight into how Fina is coping and the stressors of work, impending motherhood, and her strained marriage. The resolution - the "whodunit" makes sense and fits with the characters developed. This can be read as a stand alone.

FTC Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book in the hopes that I would post an honest review as part of this blog tour. This has not affected the content of my review in any way.
About The Author

Susan Russo Anderson is a writer, a mother, a member of Sisters in Crime, a graduate of Marquette University, and a life member of The Art Students League of New York. She has taught language arts and creative writing, worked for a publisher, an airline, an opera company. Like Faulkner’s Dilsey, she’s seen the best and the worst, the first and the last. Through it all, and to understand it somewhat, she writes.

TOO QUIET IN BROOKLYN, the first in the Fina Fitzgibbons Brooklyn mystery series published December 2013. The second book in the series,MISSING BRANDY, published September 2014, and WHISKEY’S GONE published in January 2015 and completes a trilogy. The fourth book in Fina’s series, THE BROOKLYN DROP, published August 2015.

DEATH OF A SERPENT, the first in the Serafina Florio series, published January 2012. It began as a painting of the Lower East Side, the landmark immigrant neighborhood in Manhattan, and wound up as a mystery story set in nineteenth-century Sicily. NO MORE BROTHERS, a novella, published May 2012, the second in the series. The third book, DEATH IN BAGHERIA, published in December, followed by MURDER ON THE RUE CASSETTE in January 2014.

Author Links:
a Rafflecopter giveaway